How did ghost peppers get their name?

The bhut jolokia is a naturally growing pepper that can be found primarily in northeastern India and neighboring Bangladesh. ... Due to the fact that “bhut” means “ghost” in the Assam language, this pepper is often called the “ghost pepper,” in the Western world.