Why are pencils called number two?

#2 pencil (roughly) corresponds to an HB pencil on the rest of the world's scale. The lead is not too dark and not too light, and it's not too hard or too soft. Pencils numbered higher than 2 have harder leads and are often used by engineers, architects, and draftsmen because of their harder points.