How do you know if a lemon is ripe?

Lemons are ready to pick as soon as they are yellow or yellow green in appearance, have a glossy skin, and firm. The fruit will be 2 to 3 inches (5-7.5 cm.) in size. Lemons prefer to ripen on the tree.