Is vegetable shortening the same thing as vegetable oil?

The main difference between vegetable oil and vegetable shortening is the solidity factor. Shortening becomes solid at room temperature, while oil does not. Most of the time, vegetable oil and melted vegetable shortening can be substituted for one another in recipes.