What do you call a junior chef?

Generally a Junior chef is called a cook. The junior chef is allowed to wear clean aprons decorated with odd cooking related symbols. One step below the Junior Chef is the short order cook who can generally be found working in all night diners and whose aprons are usually grease stained and unwashed