What was the average life expectancy in the seventeen hundreds?

Life expectancy at birth for males was approximately 35 years, due in part to high infant and childhood mortality rates. Life expectancy increased greatly if the child could survive to age 21. In England, even in the 1500s, a male who reached the age of 21 could expect to live to 71.