Who is the vampire in buffy the vampire slayer?

Spike, played by James Marsters, is a fictional character, created by Joss Whedon, for the television series Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and Angel. Spike, is a vampire, and played various roles on the shows, including villain, anti-hero and lover.