What does it mean when dogs put their ears down?

Modern dog's ears are often floppy, so "down" can mean several things. In general, animals with mobile ears will raise their ears or bring them forward when they are interested and alert but not aggressive, and will pull the ears down and back when they feel threatened or are otherwise aggressive.