Why are dogs afraid of cats?

Dogs are not naturally afraid of cats, but they learn very easily that a cat will scratch or bite them and it hurts.

---

Dogs have a natural instinct to chase smaller animals that flee, an instinct common among cats. Most cats flee from a dog, while others take actions such as hissing, arching their backs and swiping at the dog. After being scratched by a cat, some dogs can become fearful of cats.