Why are there so many planets?

The order and arrangement of the planets and other bodies in our solar system is due to the way the solar system formed. Nearest the Sun, only rocky material could withstand the heat when the solar system was young. For this reason, the Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars are terrestrial planets.