What's a pedag?

A pedagog is a teacher. The word comes from the ancient Greek term for someone who escorted children to school. "Pedo" means child--as in pediatrician, a child's doctor. "Agogos" was from the Greek word for a leader. So, pedagog is literally a leader of children.