What is it mean when a squirrel shakes its tail?

In general, squirrels tend to shake their tails when they are startled or alarmed. ... They often shake their tails when they're upset, such as if a person gets too close to some squirrel babies. Tail shakes also let other squirrels know if they've encroached on someone else's territory.