How many meatpacking plants are in the united states?

In the most recently reported fiscal year (2018), there were 835 federally inspected, livestock slaughter plants in the US. An additional 3,773 plants process red meat, but do not slaughter. There were also 2,979 federally inspected poultry slaughter and processing plants in the U.S.