Why was aaron burr tried for treason?

Aaron Burr arrested for alleged treason. Aaron Burr, a former U.S. vice president, is arrested in Alabama on charges of plotting to annex Spanish territory in Louisiana and Mexico to be used toward the establishment of an independent republic.Burr, because he finished second, became vice president