How do you repair items in minecraft?

By combing the damaged item with its raw resource or another damaged item of the same type on an anvil. As an example, a damaged iron sword can be repaired with iron ingots or another damaged iron sword. This will also cost experience to do and will get more expensive if the item is enchanted.