Is corn syrup the same as vegetable oil?

No, corn syrup is a concentrated sweetener, not a vegetable oil.

---

Vegetable oils are fats derived from plants. The most common are Olive, Corn, safflower and coconut. Corn syrup is the concentrated sugars of corn. They are not the same.