Who came up with the months?

The first 6 are named after gods (Janus, Februalia, Mars, Aperire, Maia, and Juno) 7 & 8 are names after Julius Ceaser and Ceaser Augustus, which they squeezed in when the calendar went from 10 months to 12. Because of that 9 thru 12, named after numbers, are off by two. (Sept, Oct, Nov, and Dec),