What kind of dog breeds are there?

Different breeds of dogs have been developed for many different purposes. Some have been bred especially for large or small size. Other breeds are specialized for a task, such as retrieving, herding, tracking, or protection. The American Kennel Club currently recognizes 202 distinct breeds.