How do you know if gold is fake or not?

Make a tiny mark on the piece of gold to penetrate the surface. Drop a small amount of liquid nitric acid on that scratch and wait for a chemical reaction. Fake gold will immediately turn green where the acid is. Gold-over-sterling silver will become milky in appearance.