Who was amelia bassano?

Emilia Lanier, née Aemilia Bassano, was the first Englishwoman to assert herself as a professional poet, through a single volume of poems, Salve Deus Rex Judaeorum. Attempts have been made to identify her with Shakespeare's "Dark Lady".