How do you clean kitchen sponges?

Soak the sponge with water and put it in a microwave-safe bowl. Run under tap water for 30 seconds,letting it become completely saturated.Place the sponge and a cup with 0.5 cups (120 mL) of water in the microwave. Microwave the for 1-2 minutes.Let the sponge cool in the microwave for 10-15 minutes