Who invented the ham?

The word ham derives from the Old English hamm and refers to a cut of meat from the hog's hind legs. China takes credit for curing the first pork leg back in 4900 B.C. Enthusiasm for ham spread throughout ancient Europe with the Romans, who likely learned while trading with the Chinese