How did french toast get its name?

While no one quite knows exactly how French Toast got its name, it wasn’t a French recipe. Culinary historians claim that French Toast was originally a Roman recipe of bread that was soaked in milk and then fried. (In France it’s actually called “pain perdu” (lost bread) and made with stale bread).