What's the japanese tsunami?

On 3/11/11, a 9.1 magnitude earthquake struck off the Northeast coast of Honshu on the Japan Trench. A tsunami that was generated by the earthquake arrived at the coast within 30 minutes, overtopping seawalls and disabling three nuclear reactors within days