Who was the tallest human being?

Robert Pershing Wadlow (born February 22, 1918 – died July 15, 1940), also known as the Alton Giant and the Giant of Illinois, was a man who was the tallest person in recorded history for whom there is irrefutable evidence. He was born in Alton, Illinois. Wadlow's height was 8 feet 11 inches.