Are pumpkins gourds?

Not all gourds are squash, but many squashes are gourds and a pumpkin is a squash and also a gourd. Gourds include plants in both the genera Cucurita (soft skin gourds)and Lagenaria (hard skinned) so a pumpkin is technically a gourd. Winter squash have hard thick skins and include pumpkins.