Is roller derby a sport?

Absolutely it’s a sport! It’s a very interactive and exciting sport to watch. It’s something I always wanted to get into, but sadly my health won’t allow it.

---

The roller derby you may have watched in the 70s and early 80s was often scripted and rehearsed. The roller derby of today is real and is thought of as more of a sport than a spectacle. The skaters involved are athletes and take the sport very seriously.