Were snakes bigger back then?

Yes animals including snakes and amphibians in prehistoric & ancient civilization time eras was larger. Over time humanity has grew smaller in size humans included have grew more dependent on society, technology, & all things that make life seem simple and easy. Yet this has definitely took a toll