Tell me about nineteen eighty seven?

1987 was a common year starting on Thursday. During that year the Dow Jones closed above 2,000 for the first time, Pennsylvania Treasurer Budd Dwyer committed suicide during a live press conference, and the first cartoon of The Simpsons aired on The Tracey Ullman Show.