Do cats have a sense of time?

Yes, cats do understand time. However, they don't experience time in the way humans do, they have a different perception of time. According to anthrozoologist John Bradshaw, cats probably do not categorize activities by when they happened, instead they have a general sense of the rhythm of the day.

---

From the very small body of scientific study on this subject, it is clear that cats can assess the duration of events. They also establish schedules and routines for the daily cycle. However, cats do not seem to categorize activities by when they happened, in the way humans do.