What is steva?

Stevia is a natural sweetener and sugar substitute derived from the leaves of the plant species Stevia rebaudiana, native to Paraguay and Brazil. The active compounds are steviol glycosides, which have about 50 to 300 times the sweetness of sugar, are heat-stable, pH-stable, and not fermentable