What does stage struck mean?

"Stage Struck" is a term referring to someone who is fascinated by the theatre and who has an intense desire to become an actor, to live a life on "the stage." It is also the name of a 1958 film directed by Sidney Lumet and starring Henry Fonda, Susan Strasberg and Christopher Plummer.