What makes sweet corn sweet?

Sweet corn has high sugar content, the result of a naturally occurring recessive mutation in the genes which control conversion of sugar to starch inside the corn kernel. Sweet corn is harvested before the transition of sugar to starch is complete, leaving more sugar to provide sweetness.