Where did supercalifragilisticexpialidocious originate?

The Oxford English Dictionary first records the word (with a spelling of "supercaliflawjalisticexpialadoshus") in a column by Helen Herman in the Syracuse University Daily Orange, dated March 10, 1931. It states that the word "implies all that is grand, great, glorious, splendid, superb, wonderful".