Who started the producers?

The Producers is a 1967 comedy musical movie written and directed by Mel Brooks and starring Zero Mostel, Gene Wilder, Dick Shawn and Kenneth Mars. It was remade into a Broadway musical in 2001 and remade again into a 2005 movie starring Nathan Lane, Matthew Broderick, Uma Thurman and Will Ferrell