How long do you boil boiled eggs?

Once the water is at a rolling boil, turn OFF the heat and cover the pot. Allow the eggs to sit in the hot water for the following times according to the desired doneness: 3 minutes for SOFT boiled; 6 minutes for MEDIUM boiled; 12 minutes for HARD boiled. Then dunk the eggs into ice water to cool.