What is shea butter made out of?

Shea butter is extracted from the nut of the shea tree that grows in Africa. The fatty oil is extracted from the nut by boiling the nut in water. Besides the use in cosmetics shea butter is edible and used in several African dishes. It is high in saturated fat and not good for your arteries.

---

Shea butter is a fat extracted from the seeds of a tree commonly known as shea or shi tree. Its scientific name is Vitellaria paradoxa, and it is native to Africa.