How long do i put potatoes in the microwave for?

I usually oil the outside of my potato with EVOO, then prick the skin- to avoid exploding. Then wrap in a damp paper towel... and cook on high for about 8 minutes. If you can gently press in the sides of the wrapped potato... it is done!