What leader of the soviet union won the nobel peace prize?

Mikhail Gorbachev won in 1990. He is praised for his role in ending the Cold War, curtailing human rights abuses in the Soviet Union, and tolerating both the fall of Marxist–Leninist administrations in eastern and central Europe and the reunification of Germany.