What does the candy cane stand for?

A candy cane stands for St. Nicholas and being a good samarita especially to children.

---

On Saint Nicholas Day celebrations on December 6, candy canes are given to children as they are also said to represent the crosier of the Christian bishop, Saint Nicholas; crosiers allude to the Good Shepherd, a name sometimes used to refer to Jesus of Nazareth.