What is romanian lettuce?

It's spelled R-O-M-A-I-N-E. Romaine or cos lettuce is a variety of lettuce that grows in a tall head of sturdy dark green leaves with firm ribs down their centers. It's not as round as a head of iceberg, and is darker in color.