What is broccoli come from?

Broccoli started in the northern Mediterranean in about the sixth century BCE. Origins in primitive cultivars grown in the Roman Empire and was most likely improved in Sicily. Then was spread to northern Europe by the 18th century and brought to N. America in the 19th century by Italian immigrants.