What happened to the first dog in space?

Laika the first dog in space died abord the Soviet spacecraft Sputnik two in 1957.

---

The first dog to orbit Earth was Laika, aboard Sputnik 2 on Nov 3 1957. She made orbit alive, circling Earth in about 103 minutes. Losing the heat shield, the temperature in the capsule took its toll on Laika. She died “soon after launch,” Russian MD and dog trainer Oleg Gazenko revealed in 1993.