Are there more cats or dogs?

There is more cats (about 94.2 million) than dogs (about 89.7 million) registered as pets in the United States.

---

According to the Humane Society of the United States, there are 86.4 million cats and 78.2 million dogs in homes around the U.S. More people own dogs than own cats, but the number of cats is higher, because cats owners tend to have two or more felines sharing their home.