What is the possessive noun?

A possessive noun is a noun that possesses something—that is, it has something. In most cases, a possessive noun is formed by adding an apostrophe s to the noun, or if the noun is plural and already ends in s, only an apostrophe needs to be added. For example, The cat’s toy was missing.