Who is katie elder?

The Sons of Katie Elder is a 1965 Technicolor Western film starring John Wayne and Dean Martin. The four sons of Katie Elder, John, Tom, Bud, and Matt, reunite for their mother's funeral, sharing regret that none have lived up to her expectations, and solve why she mysteriously lost her ranch.