Who invented the perogies?

Legend has it that the 13th-century saint Jacek Odrowąż introduced pierogi to the nation when he fed dumplings to the poor in Kraków following the Tatar invasion. Since then, he is sometimes known as 'Saint Jacek with pierogi'.