How long does the s. a. t. last?

The SAT test takes 3 hours. Including breaks, the SAT can take up to 3 hours and 15 minutes. There also is an optional essay with could increase the test to 3 hours and 50 minutes, or 4 hours and 5 minutes including the breaks.