What does it mean when a dog snores?

Like humans, dogs snore because the airflow in nasal passageways or the throat is restricted. This can be perfectly normal and can be caused by something as simple as your dog sleeping on his back. The tongue can drop back towards the throat, blocking the breath from moving easily.