How do you test for autism?

There is no x-ray, blood test, etc. that tests for autism. It's a diagnosis based on observations & history. A common test is the ADOS where the interviewer asks the child questions & sets up scenarios, observing the child's responses. Another test ADI-R, a questionnaire done with the parent.